Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Basketball’ Category


Squires Knock Down Comets

The Manchester boys soccer team moved their season record to 3-3-1 with a 4-0 win over Caston Monday.

The Squire defense played lights out with Zach Hill, Cody Egner, Isaac Egner, Jake Schannep and Caleb Haecker holding the Comets to just five shots. Rainer Borgmann and Levi Hicks combined for the shut out at goal with Hicks blocking a PK late in the game.

Braydon Sewell scored the first Squire goal off a header. Nathan Self got the assist. Colin McNeeley had two goals that were assisted by Zach Hill. Eliesal Guerrero Davila also scored.


Puckett Headed to Indiana Tech

Sarah Puckett, Wabash High School senior, signed her letter of intent on Monday, Sept. 8 to play basketball for the Indiana Tech Warriors. “I love the coaches and how it is close enough to home, but far enough away that I can stay there and be a college student. A lot of my church family works there as professors,” Puckett said of her decision to attend Indiana Tech. Puckett has been playing basketball since she was a child. At Wabash, she plays center for the Lady Apaches, but Puckett will be a three at Indiana Tech. While at Indiana Tech, Puckett will major in psychology and minor in youth ministries. Puckett has enjoyed her time as a Lady Apache and looks forward to senior year with her team and new coach, Matt Stone. “To my teammates, they rock. I love growing friendships with them and I can’t wait for senior year. I’m excited just to see how everything is going to go. I was injured this summer so I didn’t get to play with my team as much as I would have liked, but watching them grow and just get to our senior, especially with Matt, is awesome. I can’t wait to be a part of it,” said Puckett. Pictured, front row, from left: Denise Puckett, Sarah’s mother, Sarah Puckett, and Daniel Puckett, Sarah’s father. Back row: Wabash High School Principal Josh Blossom, Wabash High School Athletic Director Greg Martz, Indiana Tech Girls’ Basketball Coach Jessie Biggs, and Wabash High School Girls’ Basketball Coach, Matt Stone.



Norse JH Looking For Coaches

For those who are interested in coaching Northfield Junior High School boys’ basketball for this upcoming season (’14-’15), please contact Coach Patrick Hopkins  We are looking for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade coaches at this time. We will set up a time for an interview. Thank you!


Hopkins Named Northfield Boys Basketball Coach

Northfield Jr/Sr High School would like to welcome Mr. Patrick Hopkins as our new boys’ varsity basketball coach.


Coach Hopkins had a very successful career as a player at Indiana Wesleyan University, where he earned various honors. Coach Hopkins was a two-time All American, conference Player of the Year, and was voted IWU Male Athlete of the Year. Coach Hopkins also served as a youth mentor while attending IWU. Jeff Clark, Associate head Coach for Indiana Wesleyan, says:Patrick Hopkins has a genuine interest in making personal connections that build trust and enthusiasm.”  Kyle Bloom, former head coach at Alexandria, states: Patricks’ attention to detail and willingness to serve was impressive.”


Coach Hopkins spent last season as the head junior varsity coach and varsity assistant coach at Alexandria-Monroe High School. Coach Hopkins also served as a summer camp supervisor at Alexandria, and we look forward to him bringing these experiences with him to Northfield.   


Northfield is very excited to have Coach Hopkins as our boys’ varsity basketball coach.  “I am very excited to bring Coach Hopkins to Northfield. I believe his passion for basketball and mentoring young men will be welcomed by our entire community. Patrick brings a contagious personality as well as a history of success in basketball to our program.” Geoff Salmon, Athletic Director.


Hampton Headed For Trine

Wabash senior Kyleigh Hampton has made it official, signing to play basketball at Trine University next year. Hampton, a four year varsity starter at Wabash said ” I chose Trine because it is a really nice and it offers what I want to study.”

Kyleigh will major in Music Technology.

Basketball has always been Hampton’s favorite sport. ” I have put in a lot of hours practicing and it started with my dad when I was in the third grade and it’s paying off.”

Coach Scott Bumgardner ” Kyleigh was a four year starter for us and had a great effect on our program. She has had a lot of success and will be a very versatile player in college.”

IMGP5883IMGP5884Seated L-R : Jennifer Denny(Mother), Kyleigh Hampton

Back Row L-R : Wabash Athletic Director Matt Stone, Wabash Girls Coach Scott Bumgardner


Moe Smedley Retires As Northfield Basketball Coach

Northfield High School athletic department has accepted the resignation of boys’ head basketball coach Moe Smedley.


Moe Smedley, the boys’ basketball coach at Northfield High School, has resigned his position as head coach effective immediately.  Coach Smedley has decided to retire from coaching in order to devote more time to his family. Coach has served Northfield well over the last 10 years, and will be missed by our entire community.


Coach Smedley has had a very successful career that has spanned 35 years. In his time as a head basketball coach, coach Smedley has won 9 sectionals, 3 regionals, 2 semi-states, and a state championship. Coach Smedley’s overall record is 437-345.  Coach was 121-106 in his 10 years at Northfield, and won 4 sectionals here, including back-to-back championships in 2012 and 2013.


“It has been an honor to work with a Hall of Fame coach. Coach Smedley and I have had numerous discussions about life, education, and basketball. I have appreciated Coach sharing his experiences in both coaching and life, and appreciate the professional manner in which he carried himself.  I want to thank Coach Smedley for his time here at Northfield.”  –Geoff Salmon


Southwood AAU Wins Tourney

Southwood Junior High AAU won tournament at Greenfield Central High School Saturday April 5th.  Team went 6-0 on the day.

Pool play scores: 48-32, 57-39, 50-31.

Tournament scores: 56-33, 42-21, 45-43 (overtime).

Individual stats for the day:

Matthew Nose – 90 points, 42 rebs, 13 assists, 7 steals

Jon Henry – 77 points, 52 rebs, 6 assists, 4 steals, 18 blocked shots

Carson Blair – 64 points, 13 rebs, 32 assists, 11 steals

Tyler Strickler – 27 points, 24 rebs, 2 assists, 6 steals

Ethen Roberts – 20 points, 3 rebs, 7 assists, 14 steals

Dallas Holmes – 16 points, 8 rebs, 3 assists, 6 steals

Luke Winer – 4 points, 1 reb, 2 assists, 5 steals



Phillipy Receives County Player of the Year Award

Southwood senior Corey Phillipy was voted boys County Player of the Year by and 105.9 the bash and Tuesday received his award from Andy McCord.

Phillipy led the Knights with a 16.6 scoring average for the season and 17.4 during conference play which led the TRC. Philliipy was 9th overall in the TRC in shooting percentage at 45.4%, including 40.9% from behind the arch. Phillipy was third in the county in rebounding and first in steals.